Note: This can only be done on the web application.

Smartbeam allows to share a project to collaborate :

  1. With your colleagues

  2. With external stakeholders (client, subcontractors or partners in joint ventures). Participants can be invited on one or multiple trades, with specific access rights detailed below. It is possible at any time to edit the access rights of a participant already invited or to delete it if necessary.

On the web application you will be able to access every projects from your company in read-only view. You need to be invited to a project with editing rights to be able to edit the project. On the mobile application, you only see the projects where you have been invited to.

Join an internal project

To join an existing project of your company on Smartbeam, there are 2 possibilities:

  1. If you are the account admin, just access any project and click on "Join the project“ at the top right corner, to be added to the participants.

  2. If you are a regular user, you will have to ask one of the project participants to add you to the project.

Share a project/trade

In 5 steps :

  1. In a project, click on the menu "Participants".

  2. Click on '+ Participants' to add one or more participants, internal (among the users of the account) or external (among any contacts from the CRM).

  3. Define their role (manager/editor/viewer) and the trade to which they can have access. You can always adapt these access rights or delete a participant once invited.

  4. Invited participants will receive an email invitation to join the project. The project is then accessible from their own account. They will only have access and visibility over the trade they have been invited to. Please note that to join a project, the participant must first have a Smartbeam account (see below for more information).

  5. Once the external participant has joined the project, his status will change from "Invited" to "Active".

Additional information :

  • The invitation email mentions that it is necessary to have a Smartbeam account before joining a project. If this is not yet the case, a link allows them to fill a form in order to ask for an account. Our support team will create a free account for them for the duration of the project. They will have access to Smartbeam web and mobile applications but cannot create a project themselves until they have paid subscription. They will only be able to join projects as guests. As soon as their account is created, they will receive an email to join the project. If you want to tell them what to do, you can share the following article with them.

  • It is possible to send the invitation email several times in the project participant menu by clicking on the envelope next to the participant status.

  • It is also possible to share a trade with a participant, via the list of trades by clicking on the "Share" icon to the right of a trade. The process that will follow is the same as the one outlined above.

Define and edit access rights

Each participant is identified by a role and can have access to one or several trades.

It is possible to edit the access rights in the participants menu of the project.

There are 3 different access rights:

  1. Viewer: A viewer can only add comments or pictures to job items within a trade to which he has access. Therefore, he cannot log, edit work progress or any job item. He can export a state progress and see all the other exports made on the trade to which he has access.

  2. Editor : An editor has the same rights as a viewer but can update work progress, create ou edit the items on the trade to which he has access.

  3. Manager : in addition to the rights of an editor, a manager can edit the whole project (general info, trade, zones) and add participants. He has automatically access to every trade of the project.

In detail :

Rights/Roles

Manager

Editeur

Observateur

Add work progress

Yes

Limited to the trade to which he has access

-

Add comments/photos

Yes

Limited to the trade to which he has access

Limited to the trade to which he has access

Manage items (create, edit, delete)

Yes

Limited to the trade to which he has access

-

Manage trades (create, edit, delete)

Yes

-

-

Manage zones (create, edit, merge, delete)

Yes

-

-

Manage project information

Yes

-

-

Manage participants (add, edit, delete)

Yes

-

-

Export

Yes

Limited to the trade to which he has access

Limited to the trade to which he has access

Access exports

Yes

Limited to the trade to which he has access

Limited to the trade to which he has access

Delete a participant

An internal or external participant can be deleted at any time. It will then be permanently deleted from the list of participants and will no longer have any access to the project. The activities that he had carried out (progress logs, comments, pictures, items created, exports, ...) will still be referred in his name.

Did this answer your question?